Player of the Year - Round 8

Each round we'll be posting our votes for The Swans Blog's Player of the Year award.

The players will be voted on their performance on the day regardless of previous form. The player with the highest number of votes at the end of the season, wins. Simple.

Round 8 saw the Swans power home at the MCG against the Hawks, kicking five goals to one to run out 8-point winners.

The Swans found another avenue to goal, perhaps the unlikeliest source through Ben Ronke, setting an AFL record with goals (7) and most tackles (10) laid in a match.

At one point, he outscored the Hawks after kicking his fifth early in the second quarter, 5.0 to 4.3.

He kicked his sixth of the night after beating four opponents and waltzing into an open goal, before taking a superb contested mark in the goal square with just 90 seconds left in the match.

Jack Gunston had two opportunities to put the game out of reach in the last quarter, but missed both chances, despite scoring their only goal in the last.

We might have been a bit critical on Ronke in his first game, but there's no repeat this time around. Amazingly, he's the Swans fourth highest goal kicker with 9, trailing Franklin (18), Hayward (14) and Parker (10).

Jake Lloyd was fantastic in his 100th match, finishing with a game-high 36 disposals and game-high 629 metres gained.

Midfielder Luke Parker was superb with 2 goals and 7 clearances, sending the Swans ahead with just over 3 minutes left in the match after collecting Jarman Impey high.

Oliver Florent played his best game for the Swans, a superb mix of inside and outside. He's clearly gaining in confidence every week and his rapid improvement is a credit to the coaches confidence to continue playing him.

Grundy was once again a rock in defence for the Swans and for the second week running, collected more than 20 disposals, higher than 90 percent efficiency and over 400 metres gained.

5 - Ben Ronke
4 - Jake Lloyd
3 - Luke Parker
2 - Oliver Florent
1 - Heath Grundy

16 - Callum Sinclair
15 - Luke Parker
15 - Lance Franklin
13 - Isaac Heeney
10 - Jake Lloyd
10 - Josh Kennedy

Like what you’re getting? Want more Swans Blog, and the chance to have your input into our site and what we create? We have additional content weekly on our Patreon Service. This is your avenue, what are you waiting for? Sign up today and get more content like this.

If you'd like to support us, you can head over to our Red Bubble Swans Blog Shop, and purchase one of our hideously overpriced mugs, stickers or notebooks. Help keep The Swans Blog alive.

dismiss x

Since you're here...

... we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading The Swans Blog than ever, but we don't accept advertising, and don't want to do so in the future. Unlike many other news and media organisations, fan forums and fan media, we haven't put up a paywall, or displayed ads - we want to keep our content as open as possible.

The Swans Blog is an independent fan blog and community platform. Our content takes a lot of time and hard work to produce. We do it because we love what we do and we believe our perspective matters - because it may be your perspective too.

If everyone who reads our blog, who likes it, is supporting it, our future would be much more secure.

Make a one-off contribution →

Want instant access to the latest blog and news content from The Swans Blog?
Download our Android App from Google Play today.

Justin Mitchell

Justin is a passionate AFL and Sydney Swans supporter, and football blogger since 2016. All articles are of his own opinion. You can reach him by twitter and Facebook at @theswansblog

Melbourne, Australia

Subscribe to The Swans Blog

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox.

or subscribe via RSS with Feedly!