Swans' trio nominated for AFLPA MVP

Josh Kennedy, Lance Franklin and Luke Parker have been nominated for the 2017 AFL Players Association Most Valuable Player Award.

On the back of an All Australian selection - his 3rd since moving to Sydney - and another Coleman medal, Franklin headlines the Swans' contingent to be voted most influential by their teammates.

The trio are among 54 players from across the league who are inline for the prestigious award, the winner to be announced on Tuesday evening.

The award has been one by the Swans just once in its history when Gerrard Healy took out the honour following his standout 1998 season.

Nominations for the award are a two-step process, with each team nominating three teammates in the first stage, then the wider playing group across the competition voting on the nominations in the second stage.

Players cannot vote for their own teammates during the second stage.

Fresh from his round 23 AFL Rising Star nomination, Will Hayward has been voted the Best First Year Player at the club, while Mills has been nominated for the Most Courageous award, previously won by Luke Parker in 2015 and 2016.

Captain Josh Kennedy is among the contenders for the 2017 Best Captain to be announced on the night, after an outstanding first season as captain for the club.

MVP Nominees: Luke Parker, Lance Franklin and Josh Kennedy
Most Courageous: Callum Mills
Best First Year Player: Will Hayward
Best Captain: Josh Kennedy

The winners will be announced at the AFL Players’ MVP Awards on Tuesday 12th September at Peninsula in Docklands.

dismiss x

2018 Player Sponsorship Program

The Swans Blog is delighted to be a 2018 Sydney Swans Redback member. While we're delighted to be members ourselves in such a prestigious, respected and loved club, we're extending the opportunity to you, followers and readers of The Swans Blog, to share in our experience and to become a membership with us.

We've already purchased the membership, and now we're looking for 24 supporters, followers and readers, to join us on our 2018 maiden journey. You'll share the excitement of the Sydney Swans journey, participate in match functions, have your say in who we nominate, as well as the football tips.

Best of all, if the Swans make it to the Grand Final in 2018, you could be the one representing us!

Interested? Let us know!.

dismiss x

Since you're here...

... we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading The Swans Blog than ever, but we don't accept advertising, and don't want to do so in the future. Unlike many other news and media organisations, fan forums and fan media, we haven't put up a paywall, or displayed ads - we want to keep our content as open as possible.

The Swans Blog is an independent fan blog and community platform. Our content takes a lot of time and hard work to produce. We do it because we love what we do and we believe our perspective matters - because it may be your perspective too.

If everyone who reads our blog, who likes it, is supporting it, our future would be much more secure.

Make a one-off contribution →

Want instant access to the latest blog and news content from The Swans Blog?
Download our Android App from Google Play today.

Justin Mitchell

Justin is a passionate AFL and Sydney Swans supporter, and football blogger since 2016. All articles are of his own opinion. You can reach him by twitter and Facebook at @theswansblog

Melbourne, Australia http://theswansblog.com

Subscribe to The Swans Blog

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox.

or subscribe via RSS with Feedly!