NEAFL Teams: Big name AFL inclusions ahead of the Lions Grand Final

The Sydney Swans NEAFL team is set to be bolstered on Saturday afternoon with two big name inclusions for their grand final against the Brisbane Lions.

Omitted senior listed forwards Kurt Tippett and Will Hayward will be plying their trade for Sydney's NEAFL outfit on Saturday night, headlining a strong NEAFL contingent.

Hayward - the Round 23 AFL NAB Rising Star nominee - and forward Kurt Tippett are handy inclusions for the Swans, both having failed to make the cut for the crunch Elimination final against Essendon on Saturday afternoon, and are among 22 AFL-listed players named for the Swans.

Jarrod Osborne is the only Swans Academy player named in Sydney's side, with NEAFL Rising Star nominees Sam Wicks, Sam Barkley and Harry Carr named as emergencies.

Harry Cunningham, Aliir Aliir and Dan Robinson - senior emergencies for the Elimination final - have been named in the Swans' NEAFL team on the interchange bench.

2017 NEAFL Grand Final, Sydney Swans vs Brisbane Lions, SCG, 7.45pm AEST

This match will be streamed live on NEAFL TV - YouTube
Live Champion Data statistics available on the Official NEAFL App

Additional match information below, please read if attending the match.

View teams on Sydney Swans website.


In Out
K. Tippett
W. Hayward
S. Naismith
S. Wicks
Emergencies Milestones
S. Wicks
S. Barkley
H. Carr


B: 46. Sam Murray 21. Jack Maibaum 2. Alex Johnson
HB: 38. Colin O’Riordan 11. Jeremy Laidler 31. Harrison Marsh
C: 45. Sam Fisher 33. Brandon Jack 13. Oliver Florent
HF: 30. Tyrone Leonardis 19. Shaun Edwards 25. Ben Ronke
F: 1. James Rose 47. Toby Pink 9. Will Hayward
Foll: 8. Kurt Tippett 6. Jordan Foote 34. Jordan Dawson
Inter: 36. Aliir Aliir 7. Harry Cunningham 32. Michael Talia 27. Daniel Robinson 55. Jarrod Osborne
Emer: 48. Sam Wicks 53. Sam Barkley 52. Harry Carr


B: 42. Mitch Hinge 41. Matt Eagles 59. Jack Payne
HB: 47. Reuben William 20. Cedric Cox 24. Liam Dawson
C: 19. Josh Clayton 16. Jarrad Jansen 8. Rohan Bewick
HF: 34. Jono Freeman 60. Connor Ballenden 37. Jacob Allison
F: 40. Matthew Hammelmann 33. Michael Close 39. Corey Lyons
Foll: 44. Archie Smith 1. Ben Keays 17. Claye Beams
Inter: 46. Oscar McInerney 54. Luke O’Sullivan 53. Campbell Walker 48. Blake Grewar 11. Cian Hanley
Emer: 52. Jack Clayton 55. Ben Sloan 50. Ryan Dadds
In: 48. Blake Grewar 11. Cian Hanley 37. Jacob Allison 60. Connor Ballenden
Out: 52. Jack Clayton 55. Ben Sloan 50. Ryan Dadds

Additional information

The NEAFL Grand Final between the Sydney Swans and Brisbane Lions will be played as a curtain closer to the Elimination final between the Sydney Swans and Essendon Bombers on Saturday night, with the first bounce at 7.45pm AEST.

Only the MA Noble Stand and lower level of the Ladies concourse behind the benches will be available to patrons.

If you are staying for the match after the Elimination final, make your way after the final siren to the SCG Members Reserve, using one of the following cross-over points noted below (do not leave the ground):

  • Behind Bay 33 on the Brewongle Concourse
  • Near Gate G – following the Bill O’Reilly Concourse to the end, walking towards the Bradman Stand

If attending the NEAFL Grand Final only, free entry to the ground will be available at Gate A on Driver Avenue from 7:15pm only.

Food and beverages will be available in the MA Noble Stand Level 1 food court only.

SCG Dress regulations will not apply for the NEAFL Grand Final, they do apply for the senior match however, for those with tickets to the area.

Like what you’re getting? Want more Swans Blog, and the chance to have your input into our site and what we create? We have additional content weekly on our Patreon Service. This is your avenue, what are you waiting for? Sign up today and get more content like this.

If you'd like to support us, you can head over to our Red Bubble Swans Blog Shop, and purchase one of our hideously overpriced mugs, stickers or notebooks. Help keep The Swans Blog alive.

dismiss x

Since you're here...

... we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading The Swans Blog than ever, but we don't accept advertising, and don't want to do so in the future. Unlike many other news and media organisations, fan forums and fan media, we haven't put up a paywall, or displayed ads - we want to keep our content as open as possible.

The Swans Blog is an independent fan blog and community platform. Our content takes a lot of time and hard work to produce. We do it because we love what we do and we believe our perspective matters - because it may be your perspective too.

If everyone who reads our blog, who likes it, is supporting it, our future would be much more secure.

Make a one-off contribution →

Want instant access to the latest blog and news content from The Swans Blog?
Download our Android App from Google Play today.

Justin Mitchell

Justin is a passionate AFL and Sydney Swans supporter, and football blogger since 2016. All articles are of his own opinion. You can reach him by twitter and Facebook at @theswansblog

Melbourne, Australia

Subscribe to The Swans Blog

Get the latest posts delivered right to your inbox.

or subscribe via RSS with Feedly!